Living will

Sadako used to have said,

“ I’ll be gone while sleeping soundly and peacefully without pain.”

One day she talked to me

“ I was visited by a stranger who invited me to go somewhere with her. But I didn’t feel like fine being sick. So I said to her come back again when I get better. It seems that it was an invitation to the place where we will never come back. If so…, I should have gone there…Hahaha.”

She was 95 or 96 year-old at that time, being still talkative and full of wit. I was sure she might as well having good ending when she is gone.

It was March 3 last year that Sadako was sent to the hospital by an ambulance a day before I had to leave to see my granddaughter in Perth having booked a few months before. It was bad timing but I couldn’t cancel the schedule.

Three weeks later when I was back Sadako was getting recovery to the regular room from the emergency room. She could speak “Thank you” or “Where is it?” She looked like waking up from the dream.

I replied to her, “ Welcome back! You didn’t go with someone who invited you, did you?”

But it was not so long while she could be fine enough to speak by herself. The doctor offered me to accept the treatment to set a tube feeding from the nose, otherwise she might not live longer.

doctor;D , myself, M

D; We’re trying hard to let her feed from the mouth but she couldn’t get through. So she needs to get nutrition from the tube.

M; I’ve heard she would live only she could enjoy eating by herself and she might not want anything to be forced to prolong life. Is it a kind of apothanasia, isn’t it?

D; You could say that but it’s not so bad just supporting life as long as she has a living will.

M; I don’t think she wants to be supported longer life without consciousness.

D; We’re not sure of her will. She might want to live. We are doctors who should save life.

M; …..

I couldn’t but agreed to the medical care assignment which let her tube feeding in the rest of life.

You know once being in the emergency room such as advanced medical care, patients couldn’t die easily.

Sadako was forced to live longer more than 2 months suffering in bed. Tube feeding is just like maintain plants in the green house. Life could live until the heart stoppage. I blamed myself who makes her in pain so much. I prayed “Please release her from the tubes and let her leave and set free without pain.”

Living will

6 thoughts on “Living will

  1. Good morning ☁
    My mother’s case
    And me
    ①we don’t need life support.
    ②I say my children. My mother said nothing…my idea
    ③mother said 「fruit to lay in a coffin not flowers」④don’t call an ambulance. Call only home doctor.
    ⑤It’s natural to lonely death.
    ⑥wherever my death place.
    ⑦yes, I have.
    ⑧yes, I have.
    ⑨yes, I have.
    ⑩of course💕
    We don’t say 「please help」at hospital, It’s protect 「life support」

    Like

    1. It’s important to share “ own living will “ with my family….I don’t want to be cared too much such as tube feeding or ventilator.

      Like

  2. I agree with opinion of Ms. Matsubara.
    Recently I talk about “how to die” with my friends.
    We need to write ‘notes of the end of life’.
    I already wrote it. But I think it’s also important to talk to my family by words.
    It’s because I think that my family shouldn’t trouble “about my mother death”.

    I was worked in the hospital.
    I saw a lot of people trouble about “how to family death”.
    I’m going to listen to my mother’s idea together my brother.
    By the way,
    I will go skiing tomorrow.
    I can’t sent comments untill Monday.

    Like

    1. The ending life and the final decision of own life shouldn’t up to others or doctors. We should be responsible of our own ending.

      Like

  3. Discuss the rights and wrongs of life-prolonging measures of elderly is a very difficult problem.
    Especially, it will be very serious because the number of elderly people living alone will increase rapidly in the future as like Sadako.
    In the case of my home, my father passed away at the age of 95 and my mother at the age of 94, but they didn’t make a special life-prolonging measures by their will without getting serious pain.

    Like

    1. It’s an ideal ending of your parents supported by steady family support. Recently the power of family bonds are weaker and weaker as the time goes by. That’s why lonely elderly people are increasing. It’s a social problem in the world wide.

      Like

Leave a comment