Empathetic identification 

It’s a very interesting topic between Japanese and foreign languages. Our language is based on ambiguous words which are focus on not harming other people feeling called ” Empathetic identification “, it’s saying.

I remember that my son claimed ” I’m not Boku but my name is Sei chan, ” when he was asked by someone in the neighborhood . ” Boku, where’re you going?” He didn’t understand Japanese sympathetic identification at his 3-year-old.

I also notice that we can both allow “Thank you” and ” Sorry ” in Japanese but in English it’s kind of strange.  We should know our precious goodness as well as differences from other cultural expressions in the world.

Empathetic identification

8 thoughts on “Empathetic identification 

  1. Good morning☁
    My husband ,he is still「Boku」
    I married , I say「Dear」he ingored me,but 「Boku」 he looks me.
    So my son said「 I’m not Boku,Boku is my father」
    These days junior high scool students say 「jichan」for my husband,Boku.👦👨👴

    Like

  2. Probably, I think that Japanese is a very difficult language for foreigners more than we think English is difficult.
    Japanese language is accompanied in Japanese temperament to respect the minds of ambiguity and humility.
    However, recent young people tend to talk to straight without to use much of polite expressions or ambiguous way of saying.
    It is a pity that Japan’s original good side is being lost, but it may be inevitable for Japan to become globalization in the future.

    Like

  3. I hear that Japanese is difficult for foreigners.
    I think this article is right.
    So, it’s difficult to change Japanese to English.
    By the way,
    It was a very warm day today.
    I’m stumped by this temperature difference.
    My younger brother and his wife who lives in Aichi Prefecture visited me today.
    We talked a lot about grandchildren

    Like

Leave a comment